In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The University of South Florida, School of Architecture & Community Design, offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

  • M. Arch. (preprofessional degree +  54 graduate credits)
  • M. Arch. (non-preprofessional degree + 108 graduate credits)
  • M. Arch. (2+4) (60 cr hrs undergraduate + 108 graduate credits)

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2017

NAAB Accreditation Visit

NAAB SACD 2017 Architecture Program Report (APR)
NAAB 2015 Procedures for Accreditation
NAAB 2014 Conditions for Accreditation
NAAB Branch Campus Questionnaire
2016 Systems Assessment Management
2015 Systems Assessment Management
NAAB 2014 Conditions Guide
NAAB 2013 USF Interim Progress Report
NAAB 2012 Narrative Report Part II
NAAB 2011 Accreditation Decision Letter
NAAB 2011 Visiting Team Report (VTR)
NAAB SACD 2011 Architecture Program Report (APR)
NAAB 2009 Conditions for Accreditation

SACD 2016 Strategic Plan
SACD Studio Culture Document
SACD Assessment Initiatives
SACD Diversity Initiatives
SACD Student Diversity
SACD Faculty Diversity
SACD ADA Site Review
SACD Report to the College 2014
External Reviewer report 2016 (for the Master’s Project final presentations)
External Reviewer report 2013 (for the Master’s Project final presentations)



Steven Cooke, Associate Professor - CV
JoAnne Fiebe, Research Faculty - CV
Trent Green, Associate Professor - ResearchCV
Michael Halflants, Associate Professor - ResearchCV
Levent Kara, Assistant Professor - ResearchCV
Robert MacLeod, School Director - ResearchCV
Daniel Powers, Associate ProfessorCV
Kristien Ring, Assistant Professor - ResearchCV
Josué Robles Caraballo, Research Faculty - ResearchCV
Stanley Russell, Associate Professor - ResearchCV
Taryn Sabia, Research Faculty - ResearchCV
Nancy Sanders, Associate Professor - ResearchCV
Mark Weston - Associate Professor - ResearchCV


Darren Azdell, Adjunct  - CV
Judy Birdsong, Visiting Professor - CV
John Curran, Adjunct - CV
Martin Gundersen, Sam Gibbons Endowed Chair - CV
Chadaphan Hanwaisai, AdjunctCV
Andrew Hayes, AdjunctCV
Brandon Hicks, Adjunct - CV
Robert Hudson, Adjunct - CV
Tony Huggins, Adjunct - CV
Cynthia Mason, Adjunct - CV
Jeff McDowell, Adjunct - CV
John McKenna, Adjunct - CV
Carlos Molnar, Adjunct - CV
Krystyna Sznurkowski, Adjunct - CV
Christopher Weaver, Adjunct - CV
Jason Welty, Adjunct - CV
Brian West, Adjunct - CV

Full List of Recent Faculty Research

Faculty Matrix - Spring 2015
Faculty Matrix - Fall 2015
Faculty Matrix - Spring 2016
Faculty Matrix - Fall 2016

Course Descriptions

Design Studios


History / Theory

Other Required

NCARB Information

NCARB is the National Council of Architecture Registration Boards.  NCARB administers the Architectural Experience Program (AXP), formerly known as the Intern Development Program (IDP), and the Architecture Registration Exam (ARE). For more information on NCARB, click this link:

To view the NCARB Architecture Registration Exam (ARE) Pass Rates by School, click this link: